Auto News

Hunter-Reay leaves Andretti Autosport IndyCar team 11 years later

The 40-year-old, who won the team’s fourth start alone at Long Beach in 2010, won 14 wins, including the 2014 Indianapolis 500, and won the championship in 2012 as well.

But after two non-winning seasons (three if they don’t win the final event of this year’s campaign at Laguna Seca or Long Beach), the team says goodbye to him.

His best result so far in 2021 was 4th in Nashville, but Hunter-Reay finished 10th in the finals, so he took the podium alone last year.

“What started as three races in 2010 has grown into more than a decade of success,” Andretti Autosport’s social media team wrote on Facebook.

“Through the 12 seasons, Andretti Autosport, DHL and Ryan Hunter-Reay climbed the mountain. They won the championship and won the biggest stage of the race. And now, in the next two weeks, Ryan is Indy. Turn the last lap as a car teammate.

“Ryan, thank you for having 12 great seasons with us. Together 15 wins, Indy 500 wins, and IndyCar titles. Always Champion, always friends. Good luck on future laps. increase.”

Ryan Hunter-Reay, Andretti Autosport Honda

Photo: Michael L. Levitt / Motorsport image

Hunter-Reay said on Twitter: 12 seasons, some of the best memories and achievements of my life.A teammate who has become my best friend and is grateful to Michael Andretti When will you come back and give me a shot. I checked all the major boxes. Go ahead! “

Hunter-Reay is expected to drive in three IndyCar teams next season, including one of his favorite options, the Road / Street / Indy 500 driver on the # 20 Ed Carpenter Racing Machine.

However, Autosport has confirmed that Indy Lights point leaders David Marcus, Oliver Askew, and incumbent Conor Daly are three of Carpenter’s other options.

Romain Grosjean Andretti will be confirmed to replace Hunter-Reay Within the next 10 days, Indy Lights graduate Devlin DeFrancesco will be appointed to replace James Hinchcliffe. Hunter-Reay leaves Andretti Autosport IndyCar team 11 years later

Back to top button